Write my autobiography? By Saturday?

June 2, 2008 at 3:01 am 1 comment

I’ve been asked to bring a “headshot and bio” to my next gig. This is an exciting prospect. I spent a hefty penny on my headshots and I’m excited to possibly hand one to someone. The bio, however, is a little perplexing.

How does this go exactly? Can it be funny? My instinct is to make it funny since I’m branding myself as a funny person — funny enough to make you rich if you play your cards right, sir. But somehow, I don’t feel like it should be funny. So, a serious bio about my experience as a comedian? Where do I start? I’ve been unbelievably balls-to-the-floor hilarious for my whole life. How do I fit a lifetime of hilarity on the back of a headshot? And if I write modestly, someone might think that I haven’t been funny enough. Do I write it in acting resume format? Do I put my measurements? Do I list my many special talents? (Very steady hands, certified scuba diver, can hypnotize a horse in under 12 seconds, etc.) This is quite a pickle.

I think you should come see me at The Laugh Lounge on Saturday, June 7th. That’s what I think.

Laugh Lounge
7pm
151 Essex Street (bet. Stanton & Rivington)
212.614.2500
$12 + 2 drinks

I think I should get a new hair dryer by then. That’s also what I think.

Entry filed under: Men in suits, The business, Tricks of the trade.

The most played out joke ever. Finally, some proof.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Harris Bloom  |  August 6, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Hey Carrie,

    Too late for thhat gig, but bio’s aren’t really sposed to be funny – just sposed to tell producers/audiences who you are.

    Go to any comedy club’s webnsite and see the bios of peeps performing there – rarely funny.

    rock on,

    aitch

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Come see me!

Next shows:

Thursday, December 1st
9:30
Ed Sullivan On Acid Comedy Show
The Duplex
61 Christopher St
New York, NY

Sunday, December 11th
8:30
Jazz on the Park

Categories

Recent Posts

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

